Maggie Alarcón

Love Letter/Carta de amor

In Cuba, Cuba/US, Cuban 5, Politics, Social Justice, US on February 13, 2012 at 2:22 pm

From  Adriana Pérez to  Gerardo Hernández

My love, Valentine’s Day is around the corner and once again we are apart; every year we repeat the same phrase, this year will be the last!

I wish to wake by your side and hold you the way lovers do, and I envy them all so.  A right that has been taken from us for so very long; over fourteen years without kissing you, touching you, making do with your voice over the phone, -when you can-, a postcard or some gesture thanks to your wonderful creativity and the solidarious support of those who lend their help to us unveil a wondrous smile.

Going through papers and old pictures I found the last ones we took on my birthday in January of 1998 and I couldn’t but recall how happy we were then, how our eyes revealed it all.

“Where has my springtime gone? Where is the hidden sun that my garden has forgotten, that has left a wilted soul?”,  as the song goes.

I found myself dreaming you were free, back home with me, and in a strong embrace I begged you never to leave me again. “Oh time come quickly!”,  as you often say.

Because of this, on this day of happiness, romance and gifts I have nothing better to offer you than my future, you are already the owner of my present and my past.

Happy Valentines Day!!!

Please, come back soon, I need you, I love you.  
Your Bonsai,
February 7th, 2012

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________

De Adriana Pérez a Gerardo Hernández

Amor, se acerca la fecha de los enamorados y una vez más continuamos separados; todos los años decimos lo mismo, ¡este será el último!

Deseo despertar a tu lado y abrazarte como lo harán la mayoría de las parejas, de las que hoy siento envidia. Derecho que nos han arrebatado por mucho tiempo; más de catorce años sin besarte, sin tocarte, conformándome solo con oír tu voz en una llamada, cuando se puede, una postal o algún detalle gracias a la creatividad que te caracteriza y al apoyo solidario de quienes brindan sus esfuerzos por arrancarnos una sonrisa de felicidad.

Revisando unos papeles y fotos me detuve en las últimas que nos tomamos el día de mi cumpleaños en enero de 1998 y no pude dejar de pensar en lo felices que estábamos y éramos en ese entonces, nuestros ojos lo decían todo.

“¿Dónde está mi primavera? ¿Dónde se ha escondido el sol que mi jardín olvidó, que el alma me marchitó?”, como dice la canción.

Me descubrí soñando que ya estabas libre, de vuelta en casa junto a mí, y en un fuerte abrazo te pedía que no volvieras a dejarme sola. ¡Llega tiempo!, como sueles expresar.

Por eso en este día de felicidad, romance y regalos no encuentro mejor obsequio para ti que ofrecerte mi futuro, porque ya eres dueño de mi pasado y de mi presente.

¡¡¡FELICIDADES!!!

Por favor, regresa pronto, te necesito, te amo.
Tu Bonsai,
7 de febrero de 2012

Leave a Reply

